Pucker Up and Take One For the Team

Domestic policies are the waters I swim.  Sometimes, though, there are analogous similarities that put it all in a nice kaleidoscope.

It happens all the time, but yesterday, one materialized that defined the stream-crossing phenomenon.

OK, imagine I me “accidentally” wander into the back room of a competitor’s suite at a Koch Brothers convention in Dallas.  With a bag of recording devices.  I’d be arrested.  Maybe disappeared.  And, I would have deserved the medicine.

But, who the hell told me to break into their hotel suite.  Let me glance down and check my call log.  Oh yeah.

Seeing the Persian gulf drama play out gave me the same lump in my throat.

US in IranWPFB

I could feel what the US troops were feeling as they were detained in those Iranian waters.  But, I don’t know why they were put in that position to begin with.  I doubt even  they know why.  Why in the hell were they there in the first place?  You don’t do that on accident.  Our tech is the best in the world.  They don’t accidentally wander anywhere.  They were ordered to go into Iranian waters — to ignore warnings the Iranians flood radio channels with.

The “how dare they arrest any American” nationalist screams aren’t even trying to report the story.  Playing armchair QB discussing how the Iranians might be humiliating the Navy crew — hurting their pinkie fingers behind their heads is actually anti-reporting.

OMG,  maybe the US should rip up the nuclear deal that Obummer  so weakly got us into.  Because, this obviously shows the world they’re not living up to their promises.  And, multi-lateral shulty-lateral.  Treaties are ours to do how whut we want!  USA! UAA!

Except, whoops!  The opened diplomatic channels formed through the nuclear deal negotiations made clearing up our errs a quick cakewalk.  It made sure our warriors are back in the homeland hugging their little ones.

Mmmmm.  Diplomacy.

Mmmmm.  Peace.

The world is changing for the better.  The last thing any of us needs is a return to the dark and dangerous reign of an off-the-rails Republican Republican regime.

Leave a Reply

